Grainger CEME

Center for Electric Machinery and Electromechanics

People

Leadership

Philip Krein

Photograph
Email krein@nospam595460161e38f.illinois.edu
Department PhD 1982, University of Illinois
Office Director of the Center and Grainger Endowed Director’s Chair Professor. His research interests include dynamic performance, control, and design of high-performance electric machines and large-signal analysis and control of power electronic systems.

Kiruba Sivasubramaniam Haran

Photograph
Email kharan@nospam595460161ee14.illinois.edu
Department PhD 2000, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Office Associate Director of the CEME. His research focus is electric machines applied to cost-effective off-shore wind turbines and electric airplanes.

Faculty and Academic Staff

Arijit Banerjee

Photograph
Email arijit@nospam595460162118e.illinois.edu
Title Assistant Professor
Department PhD 2016, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Office Assistant Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering. His research interests include high-torque density electrical motors and new paradigms of electromechanical energy conversion systems while working at the combined domains of electromagnetics, power electronics, and control.

Kevin Colravy

Photograph
Email colravy@nospam5954601621b67.illinois.edu
Department BSEE 1995, University of Illinois
Office Kevin Colravy is CEME’s research engineer. He has worked at the University of Illinois as a research engineer in areas of electron microscopy, X-ray diffraction, and micro/ nanofabrication. He now manages all the Grainger CEME labs and assists with student projects.

Alejandro Domínguez-García

Photograph
Email aledan@nospam59546016225ea.illinois.edu
Department PhD 2007, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Office His research interests lie at the interface of system reliability theory and control theory, with special emphasis on applications to power electronics, electric power systems, and safety-critical/fault-tolerant aircraft,
aerospace and automotive systems.

Paul Kenis

Photograph
Email kenis@nospam5954601623084.illinois.edu
Department PhD 1997, University of Twente, Enschede, The Netherlands
Office Paul Kenis of the Chemical Engineering Department collaborates with the CEME in the fabrication of fuel cells and microreactors for advanced energy applications.

Robert Pilawa-Podgurski

Photograph
Email pilawa@nospam5954601623af6.illinois.edu
Department PhD 2012, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Office Assistant Professor in Electrical and Computer Engineering. His research interests include power electronics and control techniques, power supply
on-a-chip, renewable energy systems (especially photovoltaics), and energy systems for the developing world.

Peter Sauer

Photograph
Email psauer@nospam59546016245bf.illinois.edu
Department PhD 1977, Purdue University
Office Grainger Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering. His research
interests include all aspects of electric machines and their interactions in power systems.

Graduate students

Yuan Yi (Melody)

Photograph
Email xuanyi2@nospam595460162734b.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Haran

Christopher Barth

Photograph
Email cbarth2@nospam5954601627d29.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Pilawa-Podgurski

Yue Cao

Photograph
Email yuecao2@nospam595460162876a.illinois.edu
Office PhD student of Professor Krein

Dipanjan Das

Photograph
Email ddas8@nospam595460162916a.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Krein

Jason Galtieri

Photograph
Email galtier2@nospam5954601629b64.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Krein

Sajal Harmukh

Photograph
Office MS student of Professor Haran

Felix Hsiao

Photograph
Email fhsiao2@nospam595460162b0ab.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Pilawa-Podgurski

Justin Hughes

Photograph
Email hughes5@nospam595460162bbcb.illinois.edu
Office PhD student of Professor Domínguez-García

Xichen Jiang

Photograph
Email xjiang4@nospam595460162c60b.illinois.edu
Office PhD student of Professor Domínguez-García

Zitao Liao

Photograph
Email zliao5@nospam595460162d144.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Pilawa

Ross Liederbach

Photograph
Email lidrbch2@nospam595460162db6a.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Krein

David Loder

Photograph
Email loder2@nospam595460162e523.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Haran

John Magerki

Photograph
Email magerko1@nospam595460162efb2.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Krein

Jonathan Martin

Photograph
Email jmmartn3@nospam595460162fa61.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Haran

Shibin Qin

Photograph
Email sqin3@nospam5954601630506.illinois.edu
Office PhD student of Professor Pilawa-Podgurski

Reed Sanchez

Photograph
Email rrsanch2@nospam5954601631098.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Haran

Andrew Stillwell

Photograph
Email stllwll2@nospam5954601631b63.illinois.edu
Office PhD student of Professors Sauer & Pilawa-Podgurski

Zichao Ye

Photograph
Email zye4@nospam59546016326ad.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Pilawa

Andy Yoon

Photograph
Email yoon62@nospam59546016331c1.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Haran

Jianming Zhang

Photograph
Email jzhang67@nospam5954601633c89.illinois.edu
Office PhD student of Professor Domínguez-García

Madi Zholbaryssov

Photograph
Email zholbar1@nospam59546016346bf.illinois.edu
Office MS student of Professor Domínguez-García

Support Personnel

Skee Aldrich

Email saldrich@nospam5954601636fc0.illinois.edu
Office Skee Aldrich is an ECE Laboratory Mechanic.

Gregg Bennett

Photograph
Email gbenntt@nospam5954601637d41.illinois.edu
Office Gregg Bennett is a Senior Laboratory Mechanic in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Machine Shop.

Jim Hurst

Photograph
Email jhurst@nospam595460163a4db.illinois.edu
Office Jim Hurst serves as Director of Engineering IT Shared Services.

Joyce Mast

Photograph
Email jmast@nospam595460163b013.illinois.edu
Office Staff Associate for the Center and serves as the primary point of contact for all CEME activities.

Scott McDonald

Photograph
Email samcdona@nospam595460163bade.illinois.edu
Office Scott McDonald manages the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Machine Shop. He has assisted with many of the test beds
and special hardware in use in our laboratories.

Mark Smart

Photograph
Email mwsmart@nospam595460163c543.illinois.edu
Office Mark Smart is a Technician with the Department of Electrical and Computer
Engineering Electronics Shop.

Casey Smith

Email cjsmith0@nospam595460163ca1a.illinois.edu
Office Casey Smith is the ECE Instructional Lab Coordinator.

Robin Smith

Photograph
Email rsmth@nospam595460163d55f.illinois.edu
Office Robin Smith provides administrative and operational support to faculty
members, visiting scholars and fellows, research associates, and research
assistants in the Power and Energy Systems Area of the Department of
Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Wally Smith

Photograph
Email wlsmith@nospam595460163dfbc.uiuc.edu
Office Wally Smith is a Technician with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Electronics Shop. He and Mark Smart provide support services for all laboratory equipment and instrumentation. They also prepare special hardware for use in laboratory classes.

Dave Switzer

Email dswitzer@nospam595460163e471.illinois.edu
Office Dave Switzer is an ECE Senior Laboratory Mechanic.

Stuart Turner

Photograph
Email slturne1@nospam595460163eee9.illinois.edu
Office Stuart Turner is Senior IT Specialist.